Got a question about Typeform billing and payments? This FAQ section puts some of the most common billing questions to bed.
If you have a billing or payment question that isn't answered below, you can submit a ticket to our customer support team using the Contact Support button at the bottom of this page.
If you have a question about the Payment question type, check out this article. To learn about upgrading or downgrading your account plan, see the question below or check out this article.
How do subscriptions work?
We offer yearly and monthly plans, which you can read more about on our Pricing page. All our plans are recurring, and if you want to unsubscribe you should cancel your plan before your prepaid period ends (term end).
You can cancel your subscription under the My Account section. See this article for more.
How is my subscription charged?
Your credit card will be charged automatically at the end of each billing period. So, if you opt for a monthly plan your card will be charged on the first day of the new monthly billing cycle. If you are on a yearly plan, your card will be charged on the first day of the new yearly cycle.
Why do I see authorization charges in my credit card statement?
After you successfully subscribe to one of our plans, you may see a charge for $1 on your credit card statement.
This charge normally appears above the amount you paid to upgrade. Rest assured that these are not actual charges, and they are reversed immediately. Depending on your bank, these charges will disappear from your statement in anywhere from a few minutes to a few weeks.
This is a credit card verification that Stripe (our payment processor) has to perform with your bank: When you store your card to be charged later, Stripe sends a request to your bank for either a $0 or $1 authorization (different banks permit different amounts) to verify that the card is valid.
Warning! Regardless of whether or not the authorization is accepted, Stripe reverses this charge immediately. However, even if the bank declines the authorization, you may still see a charge for $1 on your credit card statement until this is cleared by the bank.
Why is my card being declined?
If your credit card was declined, it’s normally to do with your bank’s automated fraud systems, and not with Typeform or Stripe (our payment processor). If this happens to you, please make sure your credit card information is correct and try to submit it at least three times. If the transaction still doesn’t go through, you will need to call your bank to clear the transaction. Every time Stripe submits a charge request to your bank, its automated systems determine whether or not to accept the charge. In order to determine this, Stripe takes several things into consideration, including account balance and card expiration date.
What forms of payment are acceptable?
Typeform is a prepaid online service, so all services are paid for upfront and before use by credit or debit card. We can’t support purchase orders, payments by PayPal, or send you an invoice that requests payment. However, manual invoices are available for users on Enterprise plans. You can contact our Sales team for more information here. After any order or payment, an invoice/receipt detailing the transaction, and showing it’s been paid, is sent to the billing email address for your account.
Which credit/debit cards do you accept?
We accept the following credit and debit cards:
- American Express
What payment gateway do you use?
Typeform uses Stripe, a well-established, secure, credit card payment gateway service to process your credit card payment.
What payment methods are not accepted?
- Bank transfer
- Wire transfer
- E-checks and checks from international users
How do I change my billing information?
While logged in, click on the top-right corner to expand your user menu, and select Plan + Billing.
a. While logged in, click on the top-right corner to expand your user menu, and select Settings.
b. Click on Plan & Billing:
c. Scroll down until you see this Change info button in the Your payment details box:
Click on Change info.
d. Change your payment details as needed. When you've finished, click Update billing information:
How can I delete my credit card information?
To delete your credit or debit card information, log in to your Typeform account, and click on the top-right corner to expand your user menu, then select Settings:
Now click on Plan & Billing, and scroll down to see the Your payment details box:
Click Delete info.
You'll see a pop up message asking you if you are sure.
Click Yes, delete info if you are!
How do I view or download my invoices? Can I download my invoices as a PDF?
If you need a copy of your receipts/invoices to present to your accounting department, or for year-end tax calculations, you can view, print, and email receipts from your account. You can also download your invoices in PDF format.
a. Log in to your typeform account, click on the top right hand corner to see your user menu. Click Settings.
b. Now click on Plan & Billing, then scroll down until you see the Invoices panel:
c. Click on any of the visible download icons to see a complete invoice. To view your complete invoice history, click See more.
Invoices will open up in a new window of your browser, and you can save or download them as a PDF from there.
Can I edit my invoice details?
We are not able to amend an invoice which has already been issued. You can edit your payment details by logging into your Typeform account in the Plan + Billing menu. Once you've updated your information, all future invoices will be issued with your last amendments.
Can I receive my invoice at a different email address?
We can only send invoices or other billing details to the email address associated with the Typeform account. We cannot send this information to a separate email address. If you'd like, you can change the email address associated with your Typeform account in Settings - read this article for more information.
Can I add VAT to my invoice?
We cannot amend invoices already issued. Therefore, you need to make sure to add all your billing details correctly before hitting the payment button. VAT can be added after selecting your country in the VAT number/Tax ID field - find this by editing your Payment details.
Once you've entered a valid VAT number, this will be deducted from the final price on your next invoice.
Note! We accept VAT numbers from EU countries only.
How do I cancel my paid subscription?
When upgrading to a paid plan you can pay on a yearly or monthly basis. You can unsubscribe at any time. Your cancellation will be effective at the end of the prepaid period (when the year or month expires), as Typeform does not issue refunds for contracts canceled before the contracted period ends. Please refer to this article to learn how to cancel your paid subscription.
Please take into consideration that both plans (yearly and monthly) are recurring, therefore, if you wish to unsubscribe you should cancel your plan before your prepaid period ends (term end). You may process a cancellation under My Account section.
When you subscribe to one of our paid plans, Stripe creates the first invoice and takes note of the timestamp. This timestamp applies when the subscription is terminated. For instance, if you sign up at 8:30 AM UTC on Aug 5, the cancel time will be 8:30 AM UTC on the last day of the term (Sept 5 in this case).
Once the paid plan expires, all your forms that contain paid features will be set to Private mode and you won’t be able to collect further answers – unless you upgrade again or remove the trial features from your typeforms. Your results, collected while you were on a paid plan, will always be available in your Results.
What happens if I miss a payment?
We have an automated process which attempts to bill your card several times over a period of 14 days before we downgrade an account for non-payment.
If you get a notification email from our Billing department and update your billing information before the end of the 14 days, our next automatic charging attempt will be successful and your subscription will carry on without any disruption.
If the payment fails after 14 days, your account will be downgraded and you'll lose access to the features in your paid account.
If you are currently on a legacy account and your account is downgraded, you can only upgrade to one of our current plans, not the legacy account.
What currency will I be billed in?
Subscriptions will be billed in U.S. dollars, Euro, or UK sterling. If you are outside any of these regions (USA, EU or UK), you will be billed in U.S. dollars.